top of page
Solar Decathlon 2017

ARCH Graduate and Undergraduate Option Studio Fall15

This studio comprises the participation of students in two competitions: the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon 2017, and the U.S. Department of Energy Race to Zero Student Design Competition 2016.


The Solar Decathlon is an award-winning program that challenges collegiate teams to design, build, and operate solar-powered houses that are cost-effective, energy-efficient, and rigorously designed. Each collegiate team spends two years creating a house to compete in the 10 contests of the Solar Decathlon. The winning team produces a house that:

  • Is affordable, engaging, and easy to live in

  • Maintains comfortable and healthy indoor environmental conditions

  • Supplies energy to household appliances for cooking, cleaning, and entertainment

  • Provides adequate hot water

  • Produces as much or more energy from solar than it consumes


The Solar Decathlon is a major commitment which requires an interdisciplinary team work and extensive coordination efforts. This two-year challenging initiative comprises the collaboration of several schools, departments and centers across the entire University such as Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Construction Management and Engineering among others; and also includes corporate and industrial partners outside of the academic realm.


The Solar Decathlon 2017 involves a series of studios and supporting courses focused on the design, construction, testing, transportation, assemblage and participation in the final contests of a built house. During Fall 2015 the studio included a combination of graduate and undergraduates students that focused on research and the elaboration of the concept design of a house to be further developed and implemented in subsequent studios and seminars throughout a two-year period.



Faculty Leaders

Yin, Hongxi / Faculty Project Leader

Moyano Fernandez, Pablo / Faculty Project Designer

Michels, Tim / Faculty Building Systems Specialist



Henry, Chad / Financial Manager

Meyer, Debbie / Corporate Relations Specialist

Chazen, Courtney


Undergraduate students:

Archangeli, Marina

Dash, Gabe

Hrobon, Rachel

Landman, Hannah

Lewis, Samuel

Saunders, Jodie

Simmons, Megan

Thompson, Jordan


Weinberg, Matt

Wong, Erin


Graduate students:

Bassett, Jay

Clouser, Alexander

Cheng, Kun

Yang, Yuwei

Zhang, Chenming

Zhang, Zhao

Zhong, Kun

Zhou, Hang

bottom of page